The Grass Is Always Greener On The Other Side

Love songs are no longer for me.

cuz no longer are we.

and I, I am alone.

walking this lonely twisting turning road on my own.

and as I walk, leaving the desert behind,

I come to a green pasture

There are cows and horses grazing.

One of the horses come up to me and I begin to pet it.

As I begin to pet it, he beings to sing.

“There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist. There’s a place I know, where love is never missed. There’s a place I know, where you can go, to get away from it all.”

I’m entranced by his voice, by his words.

A tear falls from my eye and as it slides down my cheek he licks it off my face.

His tongue, a wet bumpy smooth against my cheek, causes me to let out a light giggle. “Continue on with your beautiful song please.” I say to him.
He nudges my hand and tells me to climb on, & as I climb on he begins to hum. When I’m secured on top he continues to hum and begins to trot slowly ahead. “You try singing it.”
“But I don’t know the words.” I whisper into his ear, I’m leaned forward resting my upper body on his neck playing in his mane.
“I’ll tell them to you and you’ll sing them back to me. Okay?”
After thinking it about it for a moment I agree. “Okay.”

And then we begin our journey. “There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist.”

There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist…

“There’s a place I know, where love is never missed.”

There’s a place I know, where love is never missed…

“Now put them together.”

There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist… There’s a place I know, where love is never missed.

“There’s a place I know, where you can go, to get away from it all.”

There’s a place I know, where you can go, to get away from it all.

“You’ve got it.”

There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist… There’s a place I know, where love is never missed… There’s a place I know, where you can go, to get away from it all…” I lay my head against his neck and close my eyes.

As soon as my eyes shut he begins. “Where there are flowers in bloom and tea is at noon, nothing but smiles and sunshine. The birds in the sky, flowers in the field and the fish in the stream, are all there to help me unwind. Nothing here can hurt me. Here I have no worries. In this place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist…”

I open my eyes to find that he’s led me to a meadow. I get off his back and look around to find that in this meadow there’s a stream, a handful of short wide shrubs and a million wildflowers. After a minute of taking it all in I realize that I can hear birds quietly chirping.

I look at him and smile, together we sing “There’s a place I know, where heartache doesn’t exist… There’s a place I know, where love is never missed… There’s a place I know, where you can go, to get away from it all…

Leave a Reply

