I’m Rusty

I’ve had practice,
this shouldn’t be anything new.
I’ve had practice
to deal with the hurt of losing you.

Yet still,
I feel like an amateur.
My heart is broken
as you go.

You left and not even a turn of your head,
until I called out to you.
But after the 1st & 2nd time
you made it clear that you were through.

Clear as crystals,
as water, as the tears which leave my eyes.
I’ve had practice,
I should be perfect at saying goodbye.

* Author’s Note: Do you think it would be better to end the last line with
“but it still hurts to say goodbye.”?
I was kinda torn between the two. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “I’m Rusty

Leave a Reply

